Bangladesh secure spot in ICC Champions Trophy 2017

Bangladeshi Tigers have officially qualified for the 2017 Champions Trophy in England and Wales, confirms International Cricket Council (ICC) on Wednesday with West Indies dropping out as they were not among the top eight ODI teams as per ICC rankings on September 30, 2015, paving the way for Bangladesh’s entry.

Bangladesh will return to the tournament for the first time since the 2006 edition of the second biggest cricketing extravaganza that took place in India.

Bangladesh cricket team has been on a great high of late and has produced some very strong performances. The Tigers one by one beat Pakistan, India and South Africa in consecutive ODI series. They also reached to the World Cup quarterfinals for the first time ever earlier this year.

Such excellent form throughout the year has helped them jump from ninth to seventh in the ICC ODI Team Rankings. On the other hand, this is going to be the first time since its inception year in 1998 (when Champions Trophy used to be known as Mini World Cup) that assortment of Caribbean nations will not be a part of a premier event, which is being considered as probably the lowest ebb in island’s cricket history.

Who could have though that the first two World Cup champions would now even be outside the top eight teams in the world! India is the defending champions of the tournament while Australia is the current world champions.

So these two teams will be the topmost favorites to win the tournament that took place in 2013 for the last time. As the tournament is to be staged in England and Wales, the Three Lions would also be fancying their chance of winning it.

ICC Final Ranking (Till September 30, 2015)

  1. Australia- 127 ratings
  2. India- 115 ratings
  3. South Africa- 110 ratings
  4. New Zealand- 109 ratings
  5. Sri Lanka- 103 ratings
  6. England- 100 ratings
  7. Bangladesh- 96 ratings
  8. Pakistan- 90 ratings
  9. West Indies- 88 ratings